School Logo


Francis Baily Primary School is one of three schools working in partnership under the Kennet School Academies Trust, governed by a board of directors. The school itself is overseen by our governing body under the authority delegated to it by the Trust. It is responsible for the strategic leadership of the school, for the school's financial and academic performance, for safeguarding our pupils and for holding the Headteacher to account.


Governors act collectively as the governing body, exercising their powers in a primary strategic leadership role; they do not get involved in the day-to-day running of the school. Governing body can establish committees but members are not governors unless they are also members of the Governing Body. Francis Baily Primary School operates two committees that combined cover the work of the school and the responsibilities of the governors. They are:

  • Curriculum and Pastoral Committee

  • Staffing and Finance Committee.


As well as attending governing body meetings, governors are expected to be a member of at least one committee and to engage in appropriate governor and school activities. Governors also serve on various panels that decide on specific matters such as grievance, complaints and staff appointments. The Governing Body generally meets four times a year and each committee once a term.


Appointing Governors

Governors are appointed in a number of different ways:

  • Trust Governors are appointed by the board of trustees. A trust governor is a person appointed by the Board of Trustees of the Kennet School Academies Trust.

  • Parent Governors are elected by ballot of all parents and carers of current pupils. A parent governor must be a parent of a pupil at our academy at the time of their election and are appointed by the governing body following a secret ballot of all parents/carers of registered pupils at the academy.

  • Community Governors are appointed by the governing body to reflect its community and stakeholders.

  • Staff Governors must be employed in that capacity by the academy and will cease to be a governor if they cease to work at the academy; teaching staff governors are appointed by the governing body following a secret ballot of all teaching staff; non-teaching staff governors are appointed by the governing body following a secret ballot of all non-teaching staff.

  • The Headteacher is a governor ex-officio.

All Governors, except the Headteacher, serve for a term of office of four years but can be reappointed. 


Further Information

More detailed information on Francis Baily Primary School's Local Governing Board, such as:

  • Register of Interest

  • Records of Attendance and the Basis of Appointments

  • Annual Report and Financial Statements

  • Gender Pay Gap

can all be found on Kennet School Academies Trust page.


Local Governing Board (LGB)

  • The Headteacher
  • Mrs Ginette Kilroy (Chair of LGB)
  • Vacancy
  • Mr John Boyd
  • Mr Andy Maye
  • Dr Sarah Rayfield (Safeguarding Governor)
  • Mrs Jackie Wood
  • Miss Elizabeth Hobbs
  • Mrs Grace Riggs
  • Mrs Rachel Burge


Contact Local Governing Board

Chair: Mrs Ginette Kilroy

Address: c/o Francis Baily Primary School, Skillman Drive, Thatcham, Berkshire RG19 4GG


Meet the Governors by clicking below.
Category of governor*Name of governorAppointed byTerm of officeCommittee membershipAny position of responsibility***
ParentVACANCYElected by parents   
ParentSarah RayfieldElected by parents11.1.2019 –  10.1.2023Pastoral & CurriculumSafeguarding
StaffJackie WoodElected by staff



Staffing & Finance 
StaffElizabeth HobbsElected by staff 27.02.2020 – 26.02.2024Pastoral & Curriculum 
Head teacherYvonne StandingEx officio  



Local Governor


Local Governor



John Boyd

 The Governing Board

The Governing Board




24.03.2021 - 23.03.2025



Staffing & Finance






Local Governor


Local Governor

Rachel Burge


Grace Rigg

The Governing Board


The Governing Board

15.07.2020 - 14.07.2024


5.07.2020 - 14.07.2024

Staffing & Finance


Pastoral & Curriculum




Local GovernorAndy MayeThe Governing Board24.03.2021 - 23.03.2025Staffing & Finance 
Local GovernorGinette KilroyThe Governing Board01.03.2019 – 28.02.2023   Chair of Governors, Data, ICT, online Safety
Local Governor VacancyThe Governing Board   


Newsletters from the Governors